Call of Duty Black Ops 3 director talks Prestige Levels

Prestige Levels have always been a series staple for Call of Duty games. They’ll be making another appearance in the this year’s Call of Duty Black Ops 3 where players will grind away to hit that renowned Master Prestige level.

For those not aware Prestige levels are optional level thresholds that when reached give you a new emblem displayed beside your gamertag. They vary in level every game, for example in Black Ops 2 players could move up a Prestige level after hitting level 55 and there were 10 Prestige levels in total with the last one being called Master Prestige.

Black Ops 3 Game Design Director David Vonderhaar revealed on a post on Reddit that they “are not fans” of adding additional Prestige levels later on in the game’s life cycle.


We are not fans of adding Prestige Levels after launch. We wanted Prestige to have an end goal and off ramp. It’s why we gave it a name (Master Prestige) and removed the level icon when you hit it.

We do think there is a room to do interesting things to highlight a Master Prestige player that keeps playing that is NOT adding more prestige levels.

It’s designed, but not implemented yet, and I don’t want to put my foot in my mouth in case it doesn’t happen for scope or schedule reasons.


Treyarch’s previous games including the last two Black Ops titles have not added additional Prestige levels after release. However Infinity Ward added 10 to Modern Warfare 3 and Sledgehammer Games added 15 to Advanced Warfare earlier this year.


I’m personally a fan of how Treyarch does it. I remember being pretty angry when Infinity Ward added those new levels when I had been at max for a while. Call of Duty Black Ops 3 releases on PC, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3 and PS4 on November 6.

Are you a fan of new Prestige levels added after launch? or do you agree with Vonderhaar? Let us know your thoughts below.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts