Cryptic PSN Message Glitch Leads To Soft Reboot of PS4; Here’s How To Avoid It

Users on the PlayStation Network (PSN) might get a cryptic message that could force them to soft reboot the PS4. Fortunately, there is a way to avoid it.

If you haven’t been keeping up with the limitations of a messaging app, such glitches have existed for a long time now and they are usually executed by bypassing the limitations of the messaging app using special symbols. It has happened with applications like Whatsapp on Android and iPhone, so this is not a new discovery on the PS4.

playstation-logo-1024x576-1024x576

If you get a random message from some unknown person that doesn’t seem to show any text, it could be a glitch and leads to the PS4 crashing with an error. There is an easy way to avoid it, and this is through the PlayStation Messaging App that is available on iOS and Android. If you get such a message, delete it immediately through the messaging app.

If your PS4 profile is set to public so anyone can send you a message, it is best to make it private so only friends can send a message. To do this, go to Settings -> Account Management -> Privacy Settings -> Personal Info | Messaging -> Messages. Here you can set it to “Friends Only” or “No One”.

If you get hit with the glitch, reboot into the recovery mode and simply rebuild the database, which should fix the glitch. Don’t forget to delete the message as well and set up the appropriate privacy options so you don’t encounter it again.

Let us know if you have faced any issue with this glitch in the comments below.

Khurram Imtiaz

Editor-in-Chief at GearNuke. When I am not posting news, I can be seen sharing my thoughts over at Twitter.

You can follow me on Twitter and Google+

View all posts