Devil May Cry 5: Difficulty Modes Human, Devil Hunter, SOS, DMD, HOH and HAH explained

Devil May Cry 5 has five different difficulty modes to choose from including Human, Devil Hunter, Son of Sparda, Dante must Die, Heaven or Hell and Heaven and Hell Modes. Read on as we explain how each of them is different.

Devil May Cry 5, like other series entries, can provide a tough challenge for players who want a game that punches back.

Offering six different difficulty modes, Devil May Cry 5 allows you to accurately scale the challenge to your enjoyment level.

Devil May Cry 5 Human Difficulty Mode

Human is considered the “Easy” difficulty choice equivalent and should be chosen if you want a story focused run without spending much time stylishly cutting down demon. Enemies will be super easy to defeat at this difficulty and will go down super quick due to their low health. You might want to try this if you’re new to the genre or series.

Devil May Cry 5 Devil Hunter Difficulty Mode

Devil Hunter is the “Normal” difficulty choice and is slightly tougher than Human. The main difference here is the enemies attacks being more quicker and them getting a boost of health.

Devil May Cry 5 Son of Sparda Difficulty Mode

SOS or Son of Sparda is the “Hard” difficulty choice and is either unlocked by beating the game once or using this trick. Enemies in this mode are quick and have new attack patterns keeping you on your toes, they also have a larger amount of health.

Devil May Cry 5 Dante Must Die Difficulty Mode

DMD or Dante Must Die is the “Very Hard” difficulty choice and is unlocked when you beat the game in Son of Sparda difficulty or use this trick.

Devil May Cry 5 Heaven or Hell Difficulty Mode

Heaven or Hell is certainly a challenge as players will die with a single attack. On the other hand your enemies are also weaker as they’ll also die with a single blow. The challenge is made tough as you’re only allowed a finite amount of lives per playthough having you restart when you run out. Heaven or Hell is unlocked when you complete a playthrough on Dante Must Die difficulty.

Devil May Cry 5 Hell and Hell Mode Difficulty Mode

The final and most toughest difficulty in the game is Hell and Hell Mode. Here players will die in a single attack and are given just three lives. However enemies are tough and have a high amount of health equivalent to the Dante Must Die difficulty. Hell and Hell Mode is unlocked when you complete a playthough on Heaven or Hell difficulty.

Which difficulty will you be playing the Devil May Cry 5 on? Let us know in the comments below.

Also read:

Devil May Cry 5 is available now on PC, PS4 and Xbox One.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts