Devil May Cry 5: How to unlock SOS Mode from the start

Devil May Cry 5 features several difficulty settings, including SOS Mode or Son of Sparda Mode.

Devil May Cry 5’s SOS Mode is the “Hard” difficulty setting of the game and can be unlocked very early from the first time you play the game, read on to find out how.

What is SOS Mode in Devil May Cry 5?

SOS Mode or Son of Sparda Mode has enemies more damage and have higher health than the Devil Hunter difficulty. Honestly this is the difficulty you should be playing at if you have played the game before. The prior two difficulties are too easy in my opinion.

Also read:

If you want to unlock SOS Mode the normal way, just finish the campaign once but that’s boring. You can unlock SOS Mode in Devil May Cry 5 from the get go using a neat trick.

How to Unlock Devil May Cry 5 SOS Mode (Son of Sparda Mode) from the start

During the boss fight with Urizen in the prologue of the game, you’ll need to outperform and beat him which is super tough to do. If you do beat him you’ll unlock Son of Sparda and Dante Must Die modes for your choosing when the game starts.

Doing this also unlocks the “Well I’ll Be Damned” Trophy/Achievement.

Simple right? But super tough.

Which difficulty will you be playing Devil May Cry 5 on your first playthrough? Let us know in the comments below.

Devil May Cry 5 Review (Xbox One)

Devil May Cry 5 is available now on Xbox One, PS4 and PC.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts