DotA 2: Group stages and schedule for The Frankfurt Major revealed

The group stage format and schedule has been released by ESL for The Frankfurt Major. The 16 teams participating in this tournament are practicing hard for the DotA 2 first Major’s title. The group stages for the event will take place between 13th and 14th of November while the main event will start from November 16th. The group stage matches in The Frankfurt Major, just like in The International, will be streamed as well as it will be available in-game client.

The 16 teams in The Frankfurt Major will be divided into four groups of four. The teams will then play double elimination bracket with top 2 teams being seeded into the Winners Bracket at the Main Event. On the other hand, the bottom two teams from each group will have to play Lower Bracket matches. The first match of every team will be best-of-one in the Lower Bracket, while all other matches will be best of three. The Grand Finals will consist of best of five series.


This whole format has been used by Major League Gaming in their Dota 2 LAN finals including the MLG World Finals. You can attend The Frankfurt Major tournament at Feshalle in Frankfurt. The first five days of the event are free of cost but the price of the ticket to attend Grand Finals of the tournament is €50. You can purchase the ticket from Eventbrite’s official site.

Are you looking forward to attend the first Major tournament of DotA 2? Let us know in the comments below.

Shehryar Raza

A hardcore fan of MOBA & FPS games. When it comes to Esports gaming, I've an experience of over eight years. Love Pizza, Pasta & of course, ice cream.

View all posts