DotA 2: Groups and schedule for Nanyang Championships revealed

The groups and schedule for the biggest Dota 2 LAN event in South East Asia, Nanyang Championships have been revealed. The event will consist of 10 teams, which will be divided into two groups. The event will be held at Suntec City Convention Centre Singapore on October 26th, 2015. The base prize pool for the tournament will be $200,000, while 25% of all in-game ticket sales will contribute towards the base prize pool. A compendium along with in-game items will also be released for the Nanyang Championships.

EHOME will also participate in Nanyang Championships with their new roster. The team was not able to attend ESL One New York due to Visa issues and they were hence replaced by Invictus Gaming. The Visa rejection also created problems for them in Malaysia, but with the help of Nanyang committee, the team is now ready for the Nanyang Championships. Moreover, Cloud 9 was also forced to withdraw from Nanyang Championships as Theeban ‘1437’ Siva failed to renew his passport for the main event. They were replaced by a newly formed team by DotaCinema, Digital Chaos.


The five teams from each group will play a best of 2 series against every other team in the group. The first two teams from each group will move on to the winners bracket while third and second-last teams will be placed in the losers bracket. The team positioned last from each group will be eliminated from the tournament.

The team groups can be seen below.

Group A

  1. Virtus.Pro
  2. CDEC Gaming
  3. Vici Gaming
  4. Mineski
  5. Team Liquid

Group B

  1. Team Secret
  2. LGD Gaming
  3. Fnatic
  4. EHOME
  5. Digital Chaos

The points division for group stages is as follow:

  1. Win: 3 points
  2. Tie: 1 point
  3. Lose: 0 points

The double elimination matches will begin from October 28th, after the group stages. The format of these matches is almost similar to that of The International. Best of one games will be played in the first two rounds of the loser bracket, while all other matches will be best of three. The Grand Finals will consist of a best of five series.

Which team do you think will be the favorites to win the Nanyang Championships? Let us know in the comments below.

Shehryar Raza

A hardcore fan of MOBA & FPS games. When it comes to Esports gaming, I've an experience of over eight years. Love Pizza, Pasta & of course, ice cream.

View all posts