Far Cry New Dawn: Difficulty Settings; Explorer, Tough and Hard-Ass explained

Far Cry New Dawn has you choose from three difficulty settings, this article explains what they do and how the different Far Cry New Dawn difficulty settings make your experience different.

Far Cry New Dawn is the latest entry in the Far Cry series and is a direct sequel to Far Cry 5, taking place 17 years after the events of the game.

Developers Ubisoft Montreal’s take on the post-apocalyptic genre in the wacky world of Far Cry is certainly an experience, but how does that change with the game’s difficulty settings? Read on below:

Far Cry New Dawn Difficulty Settings Explained

Far Cry New Dawn has three different difficulty settings namely Explorer, Tough and Hard-Ass.

Far Cry New Dawn Explorer Difficulty

Explorer is the Easy difficulty in the game and is intended for FPS newbies and those new to the the series. You take very little damage from enemies in this difficulty.

Far Cry New Dawn Tough Difficulty

Tough is the Normal difficulty, that’s intended for most players. This difficulty sets the right balance between an enjoyable challenge and being downright unfair. You’ll take higher damage at this difficulty.

Far Cry New Dawn Hard-Ass Difficulty

Hard-Ass is the Hardest difficulty in the game and is recommended for FPS and series Veterans only. Enemies do a ton of damage at this difficulty so you’ll be dying, a lot.

The major different across all three difficulties is the amount of damage you take, the harder the difficulty the more damage you’ll take.

You can choose to play the game at any difficulty you want if you’re worries about missing a trophy or achievement, as luckily there’s no pesky trophy or achievement tied to finishing the game at a certain difficulty. So you can choose the difficulty setting that seems best to you.

Far Cry New Dawn is available now on PS4, Xbox One and PS4.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts