FIFA 17 adds Japan’s J1 League, 18 new teams added to the game


FIFA 17 will be a huge step forward for EA as they move the long running football franchise onto a new engine – DICE’s Frostbite.

Recently it was revealed that EA is finally adding the Japanese Meiji Yasida J1 League and the J.League Cup tournament to this year’s game. This means all 18 clubs along with their badges, players and kits will be in the game this year. There’s also Gamba Osaka’s home pitch, Suita City Football Stadium, being recreated in the game.


Following is the list of new teams coming to FIFA 17:

  • Vegalta Sendai
  • Kashima Antlers
  • Urawa Reds
  • Omiya Ardija
  • Kashiwa Reysol
  • FC Tokyo
  • Kawasaki Frontale
  • Yokohama F. Marinos
  • Shonan Bellmare
  • Ventforet Kofu
  • Albirex Niigata
  • Júbilo Iwata
  • Nagoya Grampus
  • Gamba Osaka
  • Vissel Kobe
  • Sanfrecce Hiroshima
  • Avispa Fukuoka
  • Sagan Tosu

There will also be a brand new story mode this year as revealed earlier this month at E3. FIFA 17’s ‘The Journey’ mode is certainly my most anticipated mode for this year’s game.

FIFA 17 releases for PC, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3 and PS4 on September 27 later this year.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts