Fire Emblem Fates: Change Character Classes

Fire Emblem Fates is finally and we love it. The Fire Emblem series has always been slightly more hardcore than the other JRPGs on the market so newer players may have some difficulty getting used to the game’s mechanics.

If you’re wondering how to change your character’s class in both Fire Emblem Fates: Birthright and Fire Emblem Fates: Conquest then read on below.

After hitting the level cap for your character class your soldier will stop gaining experience, to continue your progress you’ll need to change their class using a Seal.


There are four Seals in Fire Emblem Fates each with its own respective function, they are below:

Master Seal: Upgrades a base class from Level 10 onwards to an advanced class.

Heart Seal: Changes a unit’s class based on his/her personality while keeping the same level.

Friendship Seal: Changes a unit’s class based on A+ support partner while keeping the same level.

Partner Seal: Changes a unit’s class based on S rank support partner while keeping the same level.

It may be tempting to change your class right away after hitting level 10 but you should wait till you’re 20 so that your character learns all the moves available to the class. Certain moves can prove to be fairly useful later in the game and you will certainly not want to miss out on them.

The Seals can be purchasable for 1DP in your Castle’s Staff Store. They can also be found in Treasure Chests or sometimes when you talk to the Villagers.

Also check out this neat Class Progression Infographic.

Having trouble progressing in Fire Emblem Fates and need help? Let us know in the comments and we’ll be glad to help.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts