Metal Gear Online: Missions, Stages, and Classes revealed

Konami has provided new details on the variety of battle missions that will be available in Metal Gear Online. As previously revealed, the game will be available in playable form during this year’s on-going Tokyo Game Show. Those who get their hands on the game at the event will be able to try out the Bounty Hunter, Cloak and Dagger, and Comm Control mission types.

The TGS 2015 gameplay demo for Metal Gear Online can be seen below.

[youtube width=”602″ height=”350″ video_id=”tDNOesE9do8″]

In the Bounty Hunter mission type, a team wins if the number of enemy team tickets are reduced to zero. Killing or fultoning an enemy reduces the enemy team tickets by one. Though, fultoning an enemy is encouraged over killing, as it increases your team’s ticket total by the value of the Fultoned enemy’s bounty.

Meanwhile, in the Cloak and Dagger mission type, the attackers win by recovering a data disc and uploading it at the Evac Point within a specified time limit. On the other hand, defenders prevail by preventing the attackers from upload the data disc. The catch is that attackers are armed with only non-lethal weapons, while defenders only have access to lethal weapons. In this mission type, you only get to spawn once per round. Once an attacker is taken out, they will be eliminated from the game. Once eliminated, they cannot return to the battlefield until the next round begins.


Lastly, in the Comm Control mission type, the attackers will be required to capture comm links in order to download confidential intel. If the attackers complete the download within a specified period, they will end up winning. However, if the defenders successfully prevent this from happening, they get the win instead. Comm links work just like ‘Capture and Hold’ modes in various other shooters, where a capture zone (or comm link in this case) can be captured by staying within its effective range until the team ownership is changed.


As for the stages, a total of 5 maps have been revealed thus far. The Jade Forest map is an African Jungle Outback, composed of natural jungle and a desolate village. The Red Fortress is a hilltop Soviet Military Base in Afghanistan with a peripheral view of the surrounding desert. Gray Rampart comprises of a dam and two surrounding regions that are connected with either side of the river via a bridge. Amber Station is a gas refinery on a harbor, containing several multi-level structures with plenty of options in terms of verticality. Lastly, Black Site is the infamous US military base set nine years after the events of Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes. It contains a multi-level base with mostly flat and spacious surrounding areas.

Screenshots from each of these maps can be seen in the gallery below.

Players will have the option of choosing one of three classes i.e. Scout, Enforcer, and Infiltrator. As the names describe, each of these classes serves a unique purpose through individual characteristics and abilities.

The Scout class specializes in long-range combat and support functions. The movement speed and strength stats for this class are decent, making it easy to recommend to beginners. The Enforcer class comes with far greater strength, and it specializes in powerful weapons. Though, its movement speed is slow, and as a result, it will prove ineffective in close quarters. The Infiltrator class is the fastest of the three., and it is also the weakest in terms of strength. This particular class specializes in close quarters combat.

Metal Gear Online will be available for the PS4, Xbox One, PS3, and Xbox 360 later this year on October 6. Meanwhile, the PC version will arrive on Steam sometime in January 2016. Let us know what you think of these mission types from the multiplayer game in the comments below.

Muhammad Ali Bari

Reviews Editor at GearNuke

View all posts