Shadow of the Tomb Raider: What’s the difference between the Difficulty Settings

Shadow of the Tomb Raider comes with four difficulty settings; Smart and Resourceful, Rite of Passage, One with the Jungle and Deadly Obsession. Read on to find out the difference between each of them.

Each difficulty setting comes with new challenges as you go up a level, with them effecting the ammo available to how you save the game.

Read on below for the full lowdown on the Shadow of the Tomb Raider Difficulty Settings

Smart and Resourceful [Easy]

This is the easiest setting in the game. There’s ample amount of ammo and health lying around. Your path and objectives will be marked with a white indicator with the game constantly providing you hints about the various puzzles you will encounter.

Rite of Passage [Medium]

This is the base setting of the game, or Normal as you would put it. Ammo and Health is slightly more scarce and enemies have a bit more health than the previous setting. The path indicator is slightly opaque now and the puzzle hints not as obvious.

One with the Jungle [Hard]

Here you health won’t regenerate. Enemies have more health, do more damage and can’t be marked with Survival Insinct, they will also spot Lara more easily. There’s also no more path indicator or puzzle hints.

Deadly Obsession [Super Hard]

The hardest difficulty in the game is mostly the same as One with the Jungle with the addition of a few minor changes. You can now only save your game at the Base Camp, with each of them requiring resources to be lit. There’s also no checkpoints so expect a lot of backtracking when you die, which you will, a lot.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider is out now on PC, PS4 and Xbox One.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts