Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Guide: How To Unlock All Characters Without Exploit

There are various methods to unlock Super Smash Bros. Ultimate characters. If you want to unlock them in a straightforward way, this is the guide for you.

You might have heard about the reset exploit, even if it was patched with the day one update. The exploit still works albeit in a different way as detailed here. For the rest of the character unlock methods, you can use either the adventure mode or go through simple CPU or player battles and unlock them through challenge battles.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate World of Light Adventure Mode Character Unlock

In the World of Light story mode, you unlock characters by simply playing through it. It begins with just Kirby instead of the standard 8 fighters that are playable in the other gameplay modes. It is a simple method to not just enjoy the single player story, but get rewarded with unlocking the full character roster.

World of Light mode can take you between 20 to 40 hours to complete, so it is a rather hefty time investment. If you want to use a faster method, the reset exploit can still be used to get them a little faster than the World of Light mode. Keep in mind that if you unlock characters through the VS. mode, you won’t be able to use them in World of Light since they don’t work retroactively. If you unlock characters in World of Light mode, you do get them in the other gameplay modes.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Guide: How To Unlock All Characters Quickly

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate VS. Mode Character Unlock

In VS. mode, you unlock characters by either fighting the CPU or other players in random matches. Once you fulfill the conditions and meet the criteria, which requires you to be as active as possible in each match, then you can get a new challenger once the battle ends. The challenger is only a 1 vs. 1 fight and it is given to the human player or in case of a multiplayer battle, the winner of the round will take this challenge match.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Update Version 1.1.0 Patch Notes

The characters that are unlocked this way are all pre-determined but if you lose a challenge match, then it basically skips that fighter and will proceed with the next one until you end up with a full rotation. Here are the characters as they appear in a challenge in the VS. mode.

  1. Ness
  2. Zelda
  3. Bowser
  4. Pit
  5. Inkling
  6. Villager
  7. Marth
  8. Young Link
  9. Wii Fit Trainer
  10. Ice Climbers
  11. Captain Falcon
  12. Peach
  13. Ryu
  14. Ike
  15. Jigglypuff
  16. King K. Rool
  17. Sonic
  18. Simon
  19. Zero Suit Samus
  20. Little Mac
  21. Isabelle
  22. Shulk
  23. Lucina
  24. Wario
  25. Ridley
  26. Pokemon Trainer
  27. Lucario
  28. Daisy
  29. Roy
  30. King Dedede
  31. R.O.B.
  32. Falco
  33. Luigi
  34. Pichu
  35. Richter
  36. Lucas
  37. Diddy Kong
  38. Meta Knight
  39. Snake
  40. Ganondorf
  41. Corrin
  42. Mega Man
  43. Bayonetta
  44. Toon Link
  45. Rosalina & Luma
  46. Incineroar
  47. Sheik
  48. Olimar
  49. PAC-MAN
  50. Dark Samus
  51. Wolf
  52. Mr. Game & Watch
  53. Robin
  54. Dark Pit
  55. Cloud
  56. Duck Hunt
  57. Ken
  58. Greninja
  59. Chrom
  60. Mewtwo
  61. Bowser Jr.
  62. Dr. Mario
  63. Palutena

Once you have unlocked everyone, you can proceed to unlock the spirits or other collectibles in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is available now for the Nintendo Switch.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts