The Last of Us Is the Most Awarded Game in History by Critics

The rankings were held by a dedicated blog Gotypicks, where Naughty Dog’s The Last Of Us took over the Number 1 spot from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim as the game that received the most Game of the Year awards from critics in history.

The Last of Us won 231 awards.  Critics chose 181 and the Readers chose 50.
Beating The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim by 5 awards.

Although Skyrim is still the most rewarded game by the readers’ awards The Last of Us now holds both overall awards and Game of the Year awards from critics.


Gotypicks started tracking Game of the Year and readers’ picks awards from basically every publication that assigns them a decade ago. Considering that before that date there weren’t nearly as many video game websites as there are now, it’s very safe to assume that no other game ever managed to gather as many top honors.

The Last of Us is, without a doubt, the game of the year and deserves all the rewards it can get. Truly an amazing game.

Danial Arshad Khan

Founder of GearNuke.
Follow him on Twitter

View all posts